The skittish one

WN_RedbelliedWoodpecker_Beckemeyer_051707.jpg

Sigh. For a few weeks now, I’ve been trying to get a photo of the red-bellied woodpecker that hangs around my birdfeeder a lot during the winter months. The problem is that, unlike the chickadees (who I’m told will eat right out of your hand if you’re patient enough), this fellow is really skittish. He flies off at the slightest sign of any movement. So, until I succeed in sneaking up on him to get that picture, I’ll have to settle for linking to this one.

Leave a Reply

