I know, I know…

…I haven’t exactly been posting a lot lately. That’s due to

  1. the start of the new semester, which has kept me pretty busy, and
  2. research and writing.

So far, the semester is off to a good start. I like the subject material I’m teaching, and I’m pleased with my students. What more could I want?

The research and writing is for a paper I’ll be giving in April. As a political theorist, I’m particularly interested in political dialogue across religious and philosophical boundaries in a pluralist democratic society.

What I’m trying to do right now is explore (relatively) recent developments in the ecumenical movement, in an effort to determine whether the lessons learned there might have any relevance in the political sphere. To that end, I’m currently reading Justification and the Future of the Ecumenical Movement: The Joint Declaration on the Doctrine of Justification, edited by William G. Rusch. Good stuff.

My interest in the project is personal as well as professional. Given that (a) I’m Catholic, (b) I was raised Protestant, and (c) I’d like to see more constructive political conversations than we currently tend to have here in the U.S., I’ve got a personal stake in dialogues both political and religious.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a Reply

