Who are we, really?

Spoiler warning! If you have not yet seen the Season 3 finale of Battlestar Galactica and you don’t want to know what happens before you see it, read no further.

I know, the photo's from the wrong episode. It's the only one I could find of Tigh with his eye patch.

I was thinking about that season finale the other day, and I was struck by a scene that occurs toward the end of the episode.

Tigh, Anders, Tori, and Tyrol have all just come to a stunning–and most unwelcome–realization: they’re all Cylons. After all they’ve sacrificed fighting the Cylons, they’re not initially sure how to cope with discovering that they’re Cylons themselves. What does it all mean? And what are they going to do about it?

As the fleet comes under Cylon attack, Tigh, at least, is very clear:

“My name is Saul Tigh. I am an officer in the Colonial Fleet. Whatever else I am, whatever else it means, that’s the man I want to be. And if I die today, that’s the man I’ll be.”–Crossroads, Pt. 2

Yes, Tigh’s a Cylon. That’s the hand he’s been dealt, and he can’t change it; it’s something that he has to deal with. But the fact that he’s now aware that he’s a Cylon doesn’t determine what he does; he need not throw his lot in with the Cylons he’s been fighting since the attack on the Colonies. He has a choice to make, and he chooses to continue being the man he’s been for the last forty years.

How does each of us choose to play the hand we’ve been dealt?

Leave a Reply

